11/24/2017
5

Amazing service. Very transparent with information provided, services and/or repairs needed and why. Included pictures and videos of any issues. I'll be taking my car here whenever I have an issue.

11/22/2017
5

Before I start this review, let me begin by saying I am very very conflicted about this place and I'm not writing this to hurt their business, I just want customers to know of my experience so they can do what's right for them. So to start, I will say David in the maintenance office at Hillside is the nicest guy ever. Everyone there actually is quite nice but David was the one taking care of me so I'll only talk about him. I was recommended to Hillside by my dad who takes his Toyota Prius there. I have a 2003 Mitsubishi Lancer and I was having issues with the heater, it just wasn't working. My AC was excellent, but the heater simply wouldn't produce heat. I called and David was able to get me in the next week, I dropped of my car for inspection and left. Upon drop off David informed me that the fee would be $130 for them to check it out and diagnose the problem, then whatever the cost of the part needing to be replaced is will be added to that. I agreed because I figured if it's only $130 to get my heater fixed I'm in. When I returned to pick it up later that day, David told me that he had found the problem. My blend door cable wasn't acting correctly. Cool, so they ordered the part and a week later I dropped my car off again. Upon pickup this time David told me that they were wrong and it still wasn't working despite the part being replaced. I was bummed but David ensured me that they would continue to work till they fixed it. I brought my car in a 3rd time to get it looked at and when I returned still no dice, the problem was "not fixable unless we remove the transition and replace the blend door box". He informed me this would cost around $1,800. I opted not to do this because in the end I live in California and the cold really isn't that bad and I could live with it because I don't have $1,800 to throw around for something small like that. David understood and sent me on my way. I was satisfied with their attempt though a bit bummed that $130 later and my heater still wasn't fixed. (I will add that at this point David did suggest a few other things on my car that "needed work" but none of it was super urgent and all of the work was a couple hundred dollars each, So I opted out." Fast forward about 3 weeks. I was driving around town when my AC started acting up. It was going in and out while I was driving, confused, I took it to my friend who is a mechanic. While he didn't know the exact problem because he didn't have time to take apart the dash, he said it appeared that my tubes were leaking and the AC wasn't making it all the way into the cab. I was pretty bummed out and kind of weary about going back to hillside so I decided to just sit on it for a bit as I lacked time and money to fix the issue immediately. A few weeks about that, the AC got even more fussy, it now only works while the car is in motion. If I'm at a light, it blows warm air, but once I move again, cold air! So confusing! I've been living with this for awhile because like I said above, no time or money to fix. I wasn't going to write this review because I knew that there could be other factors besides hillside that could have caused this and I really don't want to hurt their business. BUT, yesterday my AC started making a clicking sound that is so annoying you can't even have the ac on without it driving you nuts. Sigh, my trip to hillside to get my heater fixed cost me $130, and my ac is no longer working. Safe to say I am pretty upset. I understand stuff happens, but I find it a pretty big coincidence that right after I go to hillside, I start having all these issues. The guys at hillside really are the best and I hope that they can fix your needs, but just be very clear with them and make all the clarifications you can about issues or else you may end up in my situation. UPDATE: Well, Dave from hillside has gone and written probably the nicest yelp reply I've ever read. Well said Dave, I appreciate your empathy and want to acknowledge your dedication and kindness. You sir are a very good business man and a good person. Five stars.

11/11/2017
5

So far so good at Hillside Auto! I could not be happier with my experience today. After being thrown around by Firestone & Pep Boys, my dad recommended Hillside to me. I was done with the big name brand companies. My tire had 2 nails in it and they needed to be plugged up. Firestone simply wouldn't do that because you "can't patch tires if they're 5 years old." BS. Went to Pep Boys-- it took an hour and 15 minutes just for them to tell me, "we can't patch your tire, theres already a patch on the side and you aren't supposed to patch the side." Wtf? Ok. Went to Hillside with no appointment, told me they're totally fixable and it would take about 10 minutes. There's a weird noise coming from my tire and Charlie told me it's cupping. Whereas Firestone told me it's probably my wheel bearings. Charlie said my car is way too new for that to be the problem, and that it's probably the struts that are causing the cupping. To be sure that's the case, I had them rotate my problem tire to the front, and my newer front tire to the back (so I could figure out where the noise is coming from.) The noise now came from the front, confirming that the tire is the issue & not something larger. However, in a few years, I will need those back struts replaced because they will continue to eat up tires. While my car was being serviced I noticed all the awards around the room, and the one that really caught my eye was from askpatty.com and that was the "Certified Female Friendly" award. That means that these people have literally been trained on how to service females & how to increase their loyalty with female customers. That made me feel so much better because I felt that I was being thrown around by Firestone & Pep Boys because I'm a young female. Charlie answered all of my questions with knowledge, expertise, honesty, and patience. When my car was ready, he informed me there would be no charge because of, "everything that I've been through already." Now THAT is customer service! I will only be coming to Hillside from here on out. Thank you again!!

Thank you for taking the time to write the nice review of your experience here. I believe the one thing that sets us apart from other shops are our people. Charlie is an amazing young man. He shows up every day with this zest for life. His good energy makes him special and we are the lucky ones to have him as part of our team. Let us know if there is ever anything we can do for you. We love to be of service. DaveHillside Auto Repair
11/4/2017
5

Dave Carney's Hillside Automotive is ethical, honest, & trustworthy. Dave always follows up with a personal phone call to make sure everything is OK. I highly recommend this wonderful family owned local business.

Thanks Julie, you are very kind to share your feelings about how we treat our customers. My phone calls are a way to make sure we are fulling our promise to provide every customer with an 'exceptional customer experience'. DaveHillside Auto Repair
11/4/2017
5

Fantastic place to bring your vehicle for repairs. Don't expect cheap prices but do expect service worth the price! I will definitely be coming again.

10/25/2017
5

Excellent staff and owner. Fixed my tire twice and didn't charge me. This place is honest. Didn't try to sell me anything . I'll always support this place.

I am glad we could be of service to you. thanks for letting us know. DaveHillside Auto Repair
9/27/2017
5

We could not be more pleased with the service we received at Hillside Auto. The entire process, from booking an appt. online, to arranging an onsite rental car and communication with the shop regarding their inspections and then competed work was excellent. The staff was friendly, polite and professional. Our vehicle is running better than we could have imagined. We will certainly return to Hillside Auto for future vehicle repairs and upkeep.

9/17/2017
5

Great service! Thanks for taking the time to explain what was done on my car in detail!

9/16/2017
4

As usual the service was great ! The part we needed was hard to find ( Baltimore ) , but you located it, and finished the installation. " The Rocket " runs great !

9/15/2017
5

We have always been completely satisfied with the work you do. Our last experience was exceptional in the way you took the time to explain everything I'm detail. Your sending the pictures with the estimate was unique. Keep up the excellent work we have come to expect. know you will,.

If You Are Using A Screen Reader And Are Having Problems Using This Website, please call Hillside Auto Repair (310) 373-7676 For Assistance.