6/17/2018
5

I have a Toyota Prius and have been taking my car here for about 4 years now and have been very pleased with their service and honesty. In multiple cases, they have refuted potential issues that the dealership called out as 'immediate repairs needed'. They have given me truthful answers on whether something needs to be repaired. Their prices are a bit cheaper than what the dealer would charge. The only issue I have is that since they use the Carfax service to be able to check on car repair history, they need to check through the repair history before suggesting some work needs to be done based on mileage/years alone. My suggestion to readers is that before agreeing to any suggested repairs, check your car repair history. Hillside Auto mentioned that some repair shops do not subscribe to the Carfax service, so those repairs will not be captured.

4/9/2018
5

These people are HONEST - and they know what they are doing! The work done was of the highest quality, and the service and terrific attitude of Charlie, Michael, and the whole team are very much appreciated! Thank you, Hillside - 5 STARS for sure! Kemp and Esther Massengill, Palos Verdes

4/3/2018
5

We receive an awesome service, as usual, at hillside. It is our preferred place to get our car work done. People are so professional, courteous and go out of their way to help out. And they are trustworthy. I truly appreciate the service we receive from here. Thank you!

2/23/2018
5

Great customer service! Awesome people! They do a very thorough job at explaining the work they did. Honest people. And Charlie is super nice!

1/12/2018
5

Let me start by saying I rarely write reviews but felt compelled to do so with my experience at Hillside Auto.There are not enough superlatives in the English language to describe my encounter.I felt like a world-famous celebrity with the "concierge"service I received.This would include VERY fair pricing,accommodating my busy schedule to fit me into their busy work load,driving me home since they needed 5 hr to complete the job and even..wait for it..delivering my car to me and calling Uber to take the driver back to work.All of the delivery services were "no charge"but I took care of the driver with $$$'s.If you're considering auto repairs in the South Bay..you couldn't possibly do better than Hillside Auto. Michael S,MD

1/3/2018
5

Awesome place. Great customer service. Very thorough diagnostic program. Beautiful setting with comfy seating, good coffee. So glad I found them.

11/24/2017
5

Amazing service. Very transparent with information provided, services and/or repairs needed and why. Included pictures and videos of any issues. I'll be taking my car here whenever I have an issue.

11/22/2017
5

Before I start this review, let me begin by saying I am very very conflicted about this place and I'm not writing this to hurt their business, I just want customers to know of my experience so they can do what's right for them. So to start, I will say David in the maintenance office at Hillside is the nicest guy ever. Everyone there actually is quite nice but David was the one taking care of me so I'll only talk about him. I was recommended to Hillside by my dad who takes his Toyota Prius there. I have a 2003 Mitsubishi Lancer and I was having issues with the heater, it just wasn't working. My AC was excellent, but the heater simply wouldn't produce heat. I called and David was able to get me in the next week, I dropped of my car for inspection and left. Upon drop off David informed me that the fee would be $130 for them to check it out and diagnose the problem, then whatever the cost of the part needing to be replaced is will be added to that. I agreed because I figured if it's only $130 to get my heater fixed I'm in. When I returned to pick it up later that day, David told me that he had found the problem. My blend door cable wasn't acting correctly. Cool, so they ordered the part and a week later I dropped my car off again. Upon pickup this time David told me that they were wrong and it still wasn't working despite the part being replaced. I was bummed but David ensured me that they would continue to work till they fixed it. I brought my car in a 3rd time to get it looked at and when I returned still no dice, the problem was "not fixable unless we remove the transition and replace the blend door box". He informed me this would cost around $1,800. I opted not to do this because in the end I live in California and the cold really isn't that bad and I could live with it because I don't have $1,800 to throw around for something small like that. David understood and sent me on my way. I was satisfied with their attempt though a bit bummed that $130 later and my heater still wasn't fixed. (I will add that at this point David did suggest a few other things on my car that "needed work" but none of it was super urgent and all of the work was a couple hundred dollars each, So I opted out." Fast forward about 3 weeks. I was driving around town when my AC started acting up. It was going in and out while I was driving, confused, I took it to my friend who is a mechanic. While he didn't know the exact problem because he didn't have time to take apart the dash, he said it appeared that my tubes were leaking and the AC wasn't making it all the way into the cab. I was pretty bummed out and kind of weary about going back to hillside so I decided to just sit on it for a bit as I lacked time and money to fix the issue immediately. A few weeks about that, the AC got even more fussy, it now only works while the car is in motion. If I'm at a light, it blows warm air, but once I move again, cold air! So confusing! I've been living with this for awhile because like I said above, no time or money to fix. I wasn't going to write this review because I knew that there could be other factors besides hillside that could have caused this and I really don't want to hurt their business. BUT, yesterday my AC started making a clicking sound that is so annoying you can't even have the ac on without it driving you nuts. Sigh, my trip to hillside to get my heater fixed cost me $130, and my ac is no longer working. Safe to say I am pretty upset. I understand stuff happens, but I find it a pretty big coincidence that right after I go to hillside, I start having all these issues. The guys at hillside really are the best and I hope that they can fix your needs, but just be very clear with them and make all the clarifications you can about issues or else you may end up in my situation. UPDATE: Well, Dave from hillside has gone and written probably the nicest yelp reply I've ever read. Well said Dave, I appreciate your empathy and want to acknowledge your dedication and kindness. You sir are a very good business man and a good person. Five stars.

11/11/2017
5

So far so good at Hillside Auto! I could not be happier with my experience today. After being thrown around by Firestone & Pep Boys, my dad recommended Hillside to me. I was done with the big name brand companies. My tire had 2 nails in it and they needed to be plugged up. Firestone simply wouldn't do that because you "can't patch tires if they're 5 years old." BS. Went to Pep Boys-- it took an hour and 15 minutes just for them to tell me, "we can't patch your tire, theres already a patch on the side and you aren't supposed to patch the side." Wtf? Ok. Went to Hillside with no appointment, told me they're totally fixable and it would take about 10 minutes. There's a weird noise coming from my tire and Charlie told me it's cupping. Whereas Firestone told me it's probably my wheel bearings. Charlie said my car is way too new for that to be the problem, and that it's probably the struts that are causing the cupping. To be sure that's the case, I had them rotate my problem tire to the front, and my newer front tire to the back (so I could figure out where the noise is coming from.) The noise now came from the front, confirming that the tire is the issue & not something larger. However, in a few years, I will need those back struts replaced because they will continue to eat up tires. While my car was being serviced I noticed all the awards around the room, and the one that really caught my eye was from askpatty.com and that was the "Certified Female Friendly" award. That means that these people have literally been trained on how to service females & how to increase their loyalty with female customers. That made me feel so much better because I felt that I was being thrown around by Firestone & Pep Boys because I'm a young female. Charlie answered all of my questions with knowledge, expertise, honesty, and patience. When my car was ready, he informed me there would be no charge because of, "everything that I've been through already." Now THAT is customer service! I will only be coming to Hillside from here on out. Thank you again!!

Thank you for taking the time to write the nice review of your experience here. I believe the one thing that sets us apart from other shops are our people. Charlie is an amazing young man. He shows up every day with this zest for life. His good energy makes him special and we are the lucky ones to have him as part of our team. Let us know if there is ever anything we can do for you. We love to be of service. DaveHillside Auto Repair
11/4/2017
5

Dave Carney's Hillside Automotive is ethical, honest, & trustworthy. Dave always follows up with a personal phone call to make sure everything is OK. I highly recommend this wonderful family owned local business.

Thanks Julie, you are very kind to share your feelings about how we treat our customers. My phone calls are a way to make sure we are fulling our promise to provide every customer with an 'exceptional customer experience'. DaveHillside Auto Repair